Be careful what you wish for…not just an axiom to ignore

I saw a picture recently whose caption said something similar to this “sometimes as a mom, I feel as if I am being hen-pecked to death.” I think that most mothers know what this is like: Mom (peck)…Mom (peck)…Mom (peck)…Mom (peck)….peck, peck, peck!

Ok, so who would not, in this scenario, jump at the chance for to be ALONE in a hotel room for three nights? Save for my compute to/from work or school, it is safe to say that I am never alone. Even my 4-year-old can jerry-rig the lock on the bathroom door, which he flings open as I am showering to ask “Mama, watcha doing?”

When the chance to attend the NASPA conference in Phoenix presented itself, I was not thrilled just for the myriad of sessions they provide. I was excited by the silence and serenity that would greet me each eve in my hotel room. Except, this time silence invited a mistress–the dreaded stomach flu.

I can say with some certainty that being alone and sick is not romantic or calming or nice. It is, well, lonely. As I lay in my room grappling with my symptoms, I would have given anything for my little Batman to come into the room asking “watcha doing, Mama?” So while the grass is indeed greener on the otherside, it may not be a very pleasing hue.

Leave a Reply

